skip to main content

Celebrating 75 Years of Innovation in Nursing Education and Research

Learn More | Watch Video

Back to Top

School celebrates 2019 BScN Awards Ceremony

Mar 12, 2019

2019 BScN awards

Photo above, from left to right:
Lynn Martin, Nursing Awards Chair, McMaster
Dianne Dal Bello, Conestoga, Nursing Awards Representative
Cynthia Hammond, Mohawk, Nursing Awards Representative
Micah Zagala, MUNSS President
Andy Chea, Awards Photographer, Nursing Student
Senura Jayatunge, MUNSS Awards and Scholarships Chair

The 2019 BScN Awards Ceremony took place on March 6. A party of about 250 guests,  including donors, staff, students and their families and friends, packed LR Wilson Hall to celebrate the event.

Seventy-nine students from across the collaborative program at McMaster University, Mohawk College and Conestoga College received 86 awards. Dr. Sandra Carroll, the Vice-Dean, Health Sciences and Executive Director, School of Nursing, McMaster University and Dr. Alan Neville, Vice-Dean, Health Professional Education, Faculty of Health Sciences, McMaster University, provided welcoming remarks.

Senura Jayatunge, the awards representative from the McMaster University Nursing Students Society (MUNSS) and MUNSS president Micah Zagala jointly presented awards to the MUNSS winners.

Dr. Joanna Pierazzo, Assistant Dean (Interim), Undergraduate Nursing Education at McMaster, Maria Riva, former Associate Dean, Nursing, School of Health at Mohawk, and Heather Cross, Chair, Nursing Programs at Conestoga announced the recipients of in-course awards. During this time, some donors came onto the stage to present their awards to students. The ceremony was closed by Lori Koziol, Dean of the School of Health at Mohawk College.

Award winners received a certificate, shook hands with a member of the awards committee, and had their pictures taken. There were some light refreshments in the lobby prior to the ceremony. A slideshow played in the lobby, featuring photographs of award winners and quotes from them thanking faculty, the Nursing program, and donors.

Dr. Lynn Martin is the Chair of the Undergraduate Awards Committee within the School of Nursing. “The Awards Ceremony was a wonderful celebration of our exceptional students, our generous donors, and the family, friends and faculty who have supported students,” says Martin. “The quotes provided by students highlighted how meaningful these awards are on their growth, success and passion for nursing.”

For more photographs of the event and the slideshow, please see:

Photos: BScN Awards

Slideshow of winners' quotes and photos: Slideshow for 2019


Memorial awards honour spouses of nursing professors


Related Faculty

© 201​​7 McMaster University  |  1280 Main Street West  |  Hamilton, Ontario ​L8S 4K1  |  905-525-​9140905-525-​9140   |  Contact Us | Terms of Use & Privacy Policy