skip to main content
Back to Top

News Articles


Vice-Dean's Update - July 2020

Tuesday, Jun 30, 2020: Message from Dr. Sandra Carroll This year will be remembered as the year of COVID-19. However, despite being faced with this incredible, ongoing ... Read More

Featuring: Sandra L. Carroll

Graduate students win Nursing Research Interest Group awards

Monday, Jun 22, 2020: The Nursing Research Interest Group of the Registered Nurses Association (RNAO) has announced their graduate awards this year. Read More

Featuring: Andrea Baumann, Denise A. Bryant-Lukosius, Michelle L. Butt and Diana Sherifali

School announces BScN Level 4 award winners

Monday, Jun 15, 2020:     Each year, the School of Nursing presents awards to students in the fourth and final year of the BScN program at the annual Pinning C... Read More

Featuring: Lynn Martin

Elaine Shuhaibar wins two awards

Thursday, Jun 11, 2020: Elaine Shuhaibar, a clinical instructor in the School of Nursing, has recently been honoured with two prestigious McMaster awards. Read More

McMaster-Mohawk-Conestoga BScN Preceptor Awards 2020

Wednesday, May 20, 2020: The Preceptor Award of Distinction is a student-nominated award in the BScN program. One preceptor from each site is awarded annually. Read More

Featuring: Joanna Pierazzo

Congratulations to our Ray Family Scholarship Award winners

Thursday, May 14, 2020: Congratulations are in order for graduate students Sarah Junkin and Joanna Lynsdale. They are this year’s recipients of the Ray Family Scholarship Award. Read More

Congratulations to our graduate students

Monday, Apr 13, 2020: Our graduate students continue to win awards for their outstanding work. Some of the recent awardees include:   Harvey E. Longboat ... Read More

Congratulations to our award-winning students

Thursday, Mar 26, 2020: ​ Students from McMaster University’s graduate and undergraduate nursing programs have once again won prestigious Registered Nurses’ F... Read More

Graduate students win poster award

Monday, Jan 06, 2020: Lin Li and Marissa Bird took home an award for their poster at the Children's Healthcare Canada conference. Read More

Featuring: Jenny Ploeg, Nancy Carter, Michael McGillion and Patricia Helen Strachan

Dr. Gina Browne inducted into Community of Distinction

Tuesday, Dec 03, 2019: Browne joins our other School of Nursing Community of Distinction inductees; Heather Arthur, Alba DiCenso, Susan French and Alma Reid. Read More

Featuring: Gina Browne

Alba DiCenso reflects on 35 years at Mac

Monday, Nov 25, 2019: The professor emerita has won a Distinguished Alumni Award from McMaster. Read More

Featuring: Alba DiCenso

Dr. Maureen Dobbins wins President's Award

Friday, Nov 15, 2019: Dr. Maureen Dobbins, professor in the School of Nursing, was honoured with the President's Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision for the Faculty of Health Sciences this year. Read More

Featuring: Maureen Dobbins

Melissa Northwood Awarded Health System Impact Fellowship

Monday, Sep 16, 2019: The graduate student ​has received a Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Fellowship for doctoral trainees. Read More

Students take Canadian Nurses Foundation awards

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2019: Congratulations to our five students who recently won Canadian Nurses Foundation awards. Read More

Dr. Janet Landeen wins Health Professions Educator Award

Friday, Jun 21, 2019: Dr. Landeen was recognized for sustained and continuing excellence in education scholarship, graduate supervision and innovation in nursing education. Read More

Featuring: Janet Landeen

Dr. Bernice Downey wins MacPherson Institute’s PALAT grant

Friday, Jun 21, 2019: Dr. Bernice Downey is one of seven recipients of the 2019 Leadership in Teaching and Learning fellowships and Priority Areas for Learning and Teaching (PALAT) grants. Read More

Featuring: Bernice Downey

Micah Zagala wins alumni award

Thursday, May 30, 2019: Congratulations to Micah Zagala, a recent graduate of the McMaster BScN program. Micah won an alumni award for her social, academic and advocacy i... Read More

Clinical faculty win awards for nursing excellence

Thursday, May 16, 2019: Kathleen Willison and Stephanie Stokes both won awards at the 18th Annual Nursing Excellence Awards Dinner for St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton this month. Read More

Congratulations to Dr. Michael McGillion who has been named a 2019 McMaster University Scholar

Wednesday, May 15, 2019: The title of McMaster University Scholar is conferred on mid-career researchers who have demonstrated international impact in research and recognition for further impactful contributions to come. Read More

Featuring: Michael McGillion

Janese Baartman wins clinical instructor award

Wednesday, May 08, 2019: Janese Baartman took home the clinical instructor award from the Council of Ontario University Programs in Nursing (COUPN) this year. Read More

Featuring: Ruth Chen

Research study aims to reclaim Indigenous knowledge sharing

Wednesday, May 08, 2019: Dr. Bernice Downey has been awarded a grant from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) for a research project. Read More

Featuring: Bernice Downey

Nurse practitioner graduates win awards

Monday, Apr 22, 2019: Congratulations are in order for two graduates of McMaster University’s Nurse Practitioner program. They have both won awards from the McMast... Read More

Featuring: Nancy Carter

Jillian Halladay wins teaching award

Wednesday, Apr 17, 2019: The part-time instructor in the School of Nursing won the MSU teaching award this year. The awards ceremony took place in March. Read More

Featuring: Ruth Chen

McMaster students win 16 RNFOO awards

Monday, Mar 18, 2019:   Sixteen students in McMaster University’s nursing programs have won the prestigious Registered Nurses’ Foundation of Ontario (R... Read More

McMaster School of Nursing moves up QS ranking

Thursday, Mar 14, 2019: McMaster’s School of Nursing has moved up and is now the #2 school of nursing in Canada. Read More

Items 1 to 25 of 67

© 201​​7 McMaster University  |  1280 Main Street West  |  Hamilton, Ontario ​L8S 4K1  |  905-525-​9140905-525-​9140   |  Contact Us | Terms of Use & Privacy Policy